top of page

The ART of Meditation


I meditate. Not very well, but I do. I find that it helps me to approach the day with a level head. I also pray. Not very well, but I do. I'm not a religious man, as many of you know. My behaviours certainly wouldn't get me into what the fundamentalists in any of the monotheistic religions call heaven. In fact, I smile at those folks and let them know that, in the words of the bluesman Roy Buchanan, "I'll speak highly of you when I'm in hell."

But, I digress.


Prayer and meditation are staples in my morning routine. At least I like to think so. Please refer to my comments in the previous paragraph. However, I have learned that I can use them, especially meditation in one form or another, throughout my day. I knew this but never really put it into practice. Meditation isn't really some mystical form of transcendental travel. It is a simple means of staying present. Being here and now. Not necessarily quieting the brain but letting the myriad of thoughts that rampage through our mind flow away, don't grasp them and ruminate on them. Be aware but do not hold them.


Easier said than done, I must admit. Also easier than what we may think (pardon the pun).


Very recently on the Arts North podcast, I had a very good chat with meditation coach Tammy Skomorowski from True S3lf Wellness for Mind, Body, and Spirit. We touched on how meditation can help with the creative process, how short meditations can ground and centre us and then did a short five minute guided meditation that left me feeling focused and refreshed. Five minutes was all it took to bring me back to the present. Five minutes is not too much to sacrifice, is it? Really?


I have been practicing for Art Battle and I have to say that prior to the practice, I slow myself down, focus and get right into the moment. It has made me a better Art BAttle artist so I think it may make me a better artist overall. I will continue to do this and report back.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page