top of page

COVID Economic Casualties

There are many that have become victims of the COVID-19 induced economic crash. The retail salesperson, the hairdressers, the masseuse, the front counter staff at personal service-oriented businesses. Some businesses were mandated to close, others, like mine (newspaper) found that ad sales had dried up. We may not like but who is to blame? Nobody. Here's to hoping that the paper stays alive, that the remaining reporters keep telling the stories and disseminating the information we need to hear.


There is a unique set of workers or perhaps they are becoming the new norm. The behind the scenes workers, the "Gig workers". Those in theatre, music, art, and film. Many, like Ray Strachan who have lost contracts. You can listen to Ray's story here. I have reached out to those gig workers primarily in music and theatre to get an idea of what they are feeling and how they are approaching this weird reality.


We will continue to share the stories from these amazing contract workers. There is no telling what things will look like after this moment in history. I hope that in the future we will better protect them against these situations.

Karen Anderson

Set Carpenter/Theatre Tech/Instructor

My EI ran out March 4. I do not have enough weeks to reapply. I had two jobs lined up for March and April. One was in a professional theatre, building a set for their final performance of this season, and the other was teaching the carpentry and safety portions of a trades discovery program for indigenous women at the local community college. Both of those jobs were canceled due to pandemic social distancing rules.

I am lucky. My husband’s work is unlikely to be canceled, and much of what he does he could do at home if necessary. His salary pays the mortgage, the bills, and buys groceries. My wages pay for dinners out, movies, traveling. These are all things we can’t really do now anyway, and so we are not suffering. But if I were alone, I would not be able to pay my rent today. I would not have money for groceries. And my extra income always enabled us to help our children and to support the arts and various charities.

I don’t want to work gigs. I don’t want to be scrambling to find something for next month or even next week. I am not angry that the theatre cannot afford a full-time tech team, but I am angry that the arts are so poorly valued and funded that theatres around the world will struggle to survive this. I am not angry that the college had to cancel classes to keep everyone safe, but I am angry that education managed in such a way that colleges have so many contract and part-time teachers.

I am lucky. I have a place to isolate myself, I have someone who does the grocery runs and I am going to be okay. But I am not our breadwinner. There are other contract instructors who are. My young boss in the renovation company is, and he has small kids. I am afraid for them.

How do I feel as a gig worker in the pandemic? I feel afraid; I feel angry; I feel very, very worried, and I feel a bit guilty that I am going to be okay when many others may not.


 

I have worked with Karen on a number of shows at Theatre NorthWest, her empathy and compassion are as amazing as her passion for the jobs she does. Her story is but one of many that we are hoping to share here at Arts North.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page