top of page

Less Talk and More Action On An Art Strategy


When do we stop talking about forming a strategy and begin implementing one? Don't get me wrong, I was honoured to be part of the focus group of artists and art entities that talked about a downtown art strategy.


Albeit the focus group was not quite as focused as I had hoped and some egos weren't checked at the door.

That minor shit aside, there were some valid concerns and some solutions voiced.


Is infrastructure more important than programs? How do we get corporate funding for the art? With the new arts centre downtown, will the rents go up? Especially for those guilds like the spinners and weavers and the potters who require a great deal of space, the radio station that has special needs around technology and the running of network cables and lastly, the PGSO, who have their own unique space requirements.


Will the city be willing to not only invest but become an active partner in supporting and promoting the downtown as a cultural centre? Sure, we can build the infrastructure but can we get the people downtown? Can we convince them it is safe to be downtown? In my humble opinion, this is a moot point. I've been downtown for art-related functions, gallery openings, music at the Legion, etc. and not once was I accosted by any of the denizens of the downtown core. In fact, I found the street people I did interact with, more curious about what's going on.


The feeling that developing programs for youth was just as, if not more important than infrastructure was expressed. I happen to agree that we need to develop programs for youth. Classes, support for young and emerging artists, perhaps even some form of sponsorship, bursaries or scholarships made available to those that qualify. It is important that these are ALL inclusive without limitations based on race, creed, colour, sexual orientation, gender identity, socioeconomic status or religion.

A totally merit-based system. Can we do that? I certainly hope so. However, which comes first, programs or a place to offer the programs. Chicken or egg kind of thing.


How do we involve the established artistic and creative stakeholders in the city? How do we pull them into the downtown core? Can we build an arts centre that includes some performance space? Can we engage with the residents/entrepreneurs downtown? How would we do this, What would this look like? Can we make leases and rents affordable enough for co-ops to form?

Is there a place for artist entrepreneurs?


I'm hopeful (call me an eternal optimist) that after so many committee meetings, consultations, studies, polls, and focus groups we, as a city, have formed a comprehensive strategy that can be implemented, sooner rather than later.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on how you see downtown in 10 years. Be honest.

I think I'll ask Doug Hofstede to join me on the Arts North podcast

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page